Long Beach, 3 blocks to beach, great walking neighborhood

255
GP / nuit
3 single beds
2 double beds

Become a member!

Join the community for $175 and organize as many exchanges as you want during 1 year.

Learn more

Description

 home_description_languages en.

good_feature_description

Our 1925 Spanish-style home is in a great neighborhood--cool ocean breezes, palm trees, very private balcony, nice courtyard patio with a fountain and fire pit, and skyline views. The house is very bright, with lots of large windows, quiet, and breezy. We are about a three-minute walk away from a lively local commercial area, Second Street, close enough to be very accessible and maybe so close as to be too tempting (amazing gelato place along with dozens of restaurants of all varieties) but not so near as to be noisy. We stroll there daily to go to the post office, cafes, eateries, shops, and bakeries. Warm croissants and great Mexican food are just a few blocks away. Our travel dates coincide with the school calendar, as we have a school-age child and are educators ourselves. We also love to get exchange offers from Hawaii and Italy. We are open to California exchanges for long weekends and to other destinations for spring break. NOTE: For summer 2022, we plan to do an exchange that we postponed due to the pandemic.

good_place_description

Along Second Street, a few blocks away, you can find Thai, Greek, French, Japanese, Mexican, Italian, Middle Eastern, and of course, American food (southern-style barbecue, as well as upscale eateries). Second Street is home to such local traditions as the Christmas parade and a variety of community events, such as vintage automobile shows and "stroll and savor" restaurant sampling evenings. The ocean is just a few blocks away, as is a bay where one can rent kayaks and a tidal lagoon with sea birds and a nice beach. The neighborhood is highly walkable and very bike friendly, with excellent bus service. Long Beach is a very diverse community, with people from every part of the globe; it used to be known as “Iowa by the Sea” because of all the Midwesterners who left winter to relocate to California in the early 1900s. For a big city that's part of a bigger metropolis, Long Beach has a friendly populace and can have a small town feel, with lots of strollers and bicyclists enjoying the bike path that extends the length of the beach and up along the San Gabriel and Los Angeles rivers. See the New York Times, March 18, 2012, travel feature on 36 hours in Long Beach: http://travel.nytimes.com/2012/03/18/travel/36-hours-long-beach-calif.html?scp=1&sq=36%20hours%20Long%20Beach&st=cse Long Beach also has a thriving LGBT community and an annual Gay Pride festival and parade. http://www.gaytravel.com/gay-guides/long-beach All of the attractions of Los Angeles are within easy distance (LAX-30 minutes), downtown (30-45), Santa Monica (45-60), Disneyland (30). San Diego is about two hours by car, as is Palm Springs (or a little more, depending on traffic!). There are some very good local museums as well as excellent ones throughout the metropolitan region. Bicycling, jogging, or walking along the beach path, going to the nearby Aquarium of the Pacific, renting kayaks or roller-blades, or going for strolls at sunset along the ocean are local outdoor activities. We have paddle boards for those who want to try that activity in the bay. Excellent hiking, beautiful day trips to the nature preserves of the Santa Barbara Channel Islands, and desert excursions to Joshua Tree National Park and Palm Springs are not far either.

other

Wonderful neighborhood a few blocks from the beach Walking to lots of good restaurants and cafes Perfect weather and palm trees Beach toys and stand-up paddle boards and life jackets Two adult bikes, one child's bicycle

ID de la maison

#940615 URL copiée !

Amenities

TV
WiFi
Dishwasher
Dryer
Washing machine
Microwave oven
Freezer
Oven
Fridge
Bathtub
Heating system
Wheelchair accessible
Baby gear
Computer
Internet
Private garden
Private pool
BBQ
A/C
Fireplace
Elevator
Private parking space
Car
Bicycle
Motorcycle
Doorman included
Cleaning person included
Satellite/cable
Phone
Private Swingset
Balcony
Piano

House rules

Smokers welcome
Pets welcome
Children welcome
Dog to feed
Cat to feed
Plants to water

Map

Join the HomeExchange community!

Create an account to see the home's location and contact the member for an exchange!

Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Yes, this accommodation has a garden. You will find more details about the garden and other facilities on this page.
Yes, this accommodation has a wifi connection. We recommend that you discuss this with the host to ensure that the connection speed is sufficient for your needs.
Yes, this accommodation has one or more parking spaces.
This accommodation has 4 bedrooms.
The surface of this accommodation is 195m2.
Start exchanging your home!

Create a HomeExchange account to start contacting members.