Summer 2018 Closed! 4 bed period home, 3k to city, 5k to sea & hills

129
GP / nuit
8 single beds

Become a member!

Join the community for $175 and organize as many exchanges as you want during 1 year.

Learn more

Description

 has described his/her home in en.

What you will love about this home

Our home is a light-filled, renovated period home only 3 km from the city centre and within easy reach of mountains and sea. It's modern and comfortable with generous living space. We have high-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms, and both TV rooms have Netflix services (one is a Smart TV) We always leave a laptop computer for guests' use. The house is in an extremely quiet and private cul-de-sac. The garden and back of the house are southwest facing, getting sun all day long. We eat outside a lot - our deck with barbecue extends from the kitchen so it's very convenient for cooking, serving and clearing up. Our garden backs onto a privately owned orchard, with no traffic noise. The large kitchen is southwest facing, so it's sunny all day long. (Contrary to popular belief, it DOESN'T rain all the time here - less in fact than in London!) It has 2 eating areas - a granite breakfast counter with 4 stools, and a bespoke dining table which in everyday use seats 6/7, or can be extended to seat 10 / 12. The kitchen has top of the range appliances: washing-machine & tumble-dryer, dishwasher, extra large fridge, freezer, oven, separate hob with glass extractor ,microwave and a wall-mounted cd player. There is also a built-in laundry chute which delivers laundry down from the bathroom! Double doors lead to a comfortable family room with Corner sofa, Computers, PS3, Nintendo, Wall-mounted Smart TV, Dvd, Guitars, Board games, Lego etc. Access from kitchen directly onto wooden deck with gas barbecue, outdoor table seats 8 people, lots of plants and private walled garden. Although we are only 3km from city centre, all you will hear is birdsong! At the front of the house is a separate elegant sittingroom with fireplace, sofas, Smart TV, dvd, cd player. Downstairs has a fully tiled walk-in shower with toilet & hand-basin. Upstairs there is a family bathroom with power shower and deep cast-iron bath. Our home sleeps 8 people, plus baby cot if required. There are 4 bedrooms: * Master bedroom with King Size bed * Double bedroom, with small double bed. * Twin bedroom (can also be arranged as a Double bedroom / Triple bedroom as there is a 3rd hidden bed) * We also have a large baby travel cot if you need (baby 0 -2 years old)

What you will love about this neighborhood

Our neighbourhood is an old residential area in upmarket Dublin 6 with tree-lined roads, many parks, river & canal. Hard to guess we are only 3km from the city centre! It is a very friendly and safe area, perfect for accessing city centre, or mountains and sea. Dublin is a city of connecting villages. The amenities of the city are only 3km away, but our neighbourhood is welcoming and lively too. - Several lively neighbourhood villages with lots of shops, restaurants, (approx 50),bakeries, cafes and pubs - 8 to 20 minutes walk from our home - Brand new public swimming-pool & gym (all new equipment in Dec 2015) is 15 mins walk from the house - pay as you use. - Cinema (7 screens) is 15 mins walk away. - 7 or 8 public golf courses within 25 mins drive - nearest is 5 mins drive. (15 min walk) We have two sets of golf clubs you are welcome to use. - Public tennis courts are within 10 minutes drive. - Kayaking, canoeing, sailing all within 30 minutes drive. - Walking and hiking trails from 40 minutes drive - We are also very well served with excellent home deliveries for Indian, Thai, Italian and Chinese cuisine if you don't want to leave the house and don't want to cook! We are happy to exchange cars with you. In Dublin city mostly everything is in walking distance, and there are bus tours or walking tours so you don't miss anything. You can rent a city bike per hour to get around if you prefer. All national museums and art galleries are free. There are cafes, pubs, restaurants & interesting shops around every corner. Also beautiful city parks if you want to have a picnic. To get to the city from our house is very easy and quick. The bus is 3 minutes from the house and will take you to the city centre (3 km) - or walk into Grafton Street in 40 minutes. Or take the Luas tram (Rapid rail - 8 mins walk from the house) which has trams every few minutes: 8 mins to the city centre, or 5 mins to Dundrum Shopping Centre - award-winning and one of the largest in Europe, with fashion, cinemas, restaurants, cafes, theatre. The Phoenix Park, the largest enclosed urban park in Europe,is 3 km from the city centre (25 minutes by car from our house) and has Europe's oldest zoo. The Irish President's residence and the American Ambassador's residence are both in the Park. There is also Farmleigh House - a restored Georgian House and gardens which belonged to the Guinness family. There are many free cultural events there during the summer. To drive to the sea or mountains takes about 20 -30 minutes. Powerscourt Waterfall, a beautiful old estate with woods, river and fantastic playground for children,is only 40 minutes drive. Children will love the National Aquatic Centre (www.nac.ie) which is 40 mins drive. Glendalough is about an hour away. This is an old monastic site with a Round Tower, and stunning scenery with a lake and forests. It is well worth a visit. Newgrange and the Hill of Tara are about an hour and a half away. This is a prehistoric, megalithic tomb and is a fascinating place to visit. You or any teenagers in your party may be interested in attending some of the many concerts and music festivals around Dublin which are easily accessed from our house. We have a large information file for you to make your visit worthwhile and so you can find the 'hidden' parks and favourite places that the locals like.

other

We live in a green oasis only 3 km from a vibrant, friendly European city 5 - 30 mins to shopping, restaurants, cafes, entertainment, culture, beaches, mountains, Modern interior with several comfortable areas for relaxing, entertaining or privacy.

ID de la maison

#990960 URL copiée !

Amenities

TV
WiFi
Dishwasher
Dryer
Washing machine
Microwave oven
Freezer
Oven
Fridge
Bathtub
Heating system
Wheelchair accessible
Baby gear
Computer
Internet
Private garden
Private pool
BBQ
A/C
Fireplace
Elevator
Private parking space
Car
Bicycle
Motorcycle
Doorman included
Cleaning person included
Balcony
Private gym

House rules

Smokers welcome
Pets welcome
Children welcome
Dog to feed
Cat to feed
Plants to water

Map

Join the HomeExchange community!

Create an account to see the home's location and contact the member for an exchange!

Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Yes, this accommodation has a garden. You will find more details about the garden and other facilities on this page.
Yes, this accommodation has a wifi connection. We recommend that you discuss this with the host to ensure that the connection speed is sufficient for your needs.
Yes, this accommodation has one or more parking spaces.
This accommodation has 4 bedrooms.
Start exchanging your home!

Create a HomeExchange account to start contacting members.