Christmas in Chicago!

195
GP/Night
3 double beds
1 double extra bed

Become a member!

Join the community for $175 and organize as many exchanges as you want during 1 year.

Learn more

Description

 has described his/her home in en.

What you will love about this home

Chicago is a great place to be at Christmas! We're just a couple of miles away from Lincoln Park Zoo and their winter "Zoo Lights". Wrigley Field is less than 2 miles away with a skate rink and winter festivities. There's also easy access to the highway or a train to go downtown and shop and see the lights on Michigan Avenue and State Street and the window decorations at Macy's. Our home is a wonderful old Chicago home with lots of space to either gather with family or escape with a good book. There are three bedrooms with queen beds and two full baths. The newer upstairs dormer has two bedrooms, a bathroom, and an area we call "The Common Area". The main floor has one bedroom, a smaller one, a full bath, living room, dining room and kitchen. The basement has a seating area, a rowing machine, and a pool table. There's also a sweet backyard which gets a lot of sun and is a nice little haven to enjoy with friends. Our home is full of color, both in the décor and artwork on the walls. It's a warm, cozy and welcoming place to relax. Plenty of board games too! I hope you'll love our home as much as I do and that you'll enjoy the location in a nice quiet family neighborhood close to transportation, restaurants, grocery stores, parks, and so much more.

What you will love about this neighborhood

Our home is in the heart of Chicago, close to the highway (but not too close that it's noisy) and public transportation (both the "L" and buses). We're in an area called Avondale which is north of downtown and less than two miles directly west of Wrigley Field. It's a nice family friendly neighborhood with a lot of great restaurants and parks. Our place is ideally situated to get you anywhere in the city either by hopping on the expressway to get downtown or to an airport, or by getting on a bus or train, both of which are within a few blocks of our home. I work in higher education, as an advisor, and my husband is an elementary school teacher and we have lived in the city over 40 years. So we'll happily provide you with restaurant and site seeing recommendations. We are also walking distance from the north branch of the Chicago River which has a great walking/biking trail. Our neighborhood was also just listed as one of the top 51 best neighborhoods in the world! Check it out here https://blockclubchicago.org/2022/10/13/avondale-is-one-of-the-coolest-neighborhoods-in-the-world-according-to-new-poll/.

other

The main floor of our home is radiator heat while the newer dormered space has HVAC, and the bedroom on the main floor has a vent for the HVAC as well. An AC window unit is available in the summer for the main floor. We also have two chickens and, though they won't need anyone to care for them, they have had plenty of access to our backyard. Because of this there are "chicken ruts" along some of the edges of the yard where they've dug in order to dust themselves. It doesn't make the yard unusable it's just something to be aware of. We also have plants but depending on the length of your stay you may not have to water them.

Home ID

#2176704 URL copiée !

Amenities

TV
WiFi
Dishwasher
Dryer
Washing machine
Microwave oven
Freezer
Oven
Fridge
Bathtub
Heating system
Wheelchair accessible
Baby gear
Computer
Internet
Private garden
Private pool
BBQ
A/C
Fireplace
Elevator
Private parking space
Car
Bicycle
Motorcycle
Doorman included
Cleaning person included
Satellite/cable
Pool table

House rules

Smokers welcome
Pets welcome
Children welcome
Dog to feed
Cat to feed
Plants to water

Map

Join the HomeExchange community!

Create an account to see the home's location and contact the member for an exchange!

Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Yes, this accommodation has a garden. You will find more details about the garden and other facilities on this page.
Yes, this accommodation has a wifi connection. We recommend that you discuss this with the host to ensure that the connection speed is sufficient for your needs.
This accommodation has 3 bedrooms.
The surface of this accommodation is 260m2.
Start exchanging your home!

Create a HomeExchange account to start contacting members.