The Treehouse

264
GP/Night
5 double beds
1 simple extra bed

Become a member!

Join the community for $175 and organize as many exchanges as you want during 1 year.

Learn more

Description

 has described his/her home in en.

What you will love about this home

My home is truly nestled among the evergreens. The living space is perched on the second and third floors with a wraparound porch, exposed beams and wood throughout, and huge windows and skylights, giving you a feeling of being in a treehouse (our nickname for this property). It’s both rugged and grand, inspiring and modest. Outside, the home is surrounded by western red cedar, Doug fir, ferns, and salal. I’m obsessive about my vegetable, herb, and flower garden and would love to share all aspects of it with my guests - please harvest when you're there! I also have 10 chickens and one duck who will provide your eggs and will happily eat your kitchen scraps. Backyard is a fenced 1/2 acre and dog friendly. In the summers - I leave my Great Dane on the porch with her bed and she can lounge in the sun or explore the backyard and hang with the chickens. I have an on-site handyman who lives here and helps in exchange for rent. He’s a godsend and keeps to himself and has a separate driveway and entrance. You won’t know he’s here unless you need him. I also have a renter who lives in a little cottage on the property. She also has her own drive, is a tech professional who works from home, and is very respectful and private (although my renters tend to end up as family). My neighbors are caring and make me feel safe - we all look after each other without being intrusive.

What you will love about this neighborhood

I am one mile (less than a 5 minute drive) from forested hiking trails (great for cooler, shadier hikes on a hot day) and a huge open park when sun is needed. The island is good for kayaking with put-ins just minutes away. Less than two hours from the Olympic National Forest for longer hikes, camping, and foraging. And 101 loop around the peninsula makes for a perfect weekend trip, and takes you out to the rainforest and our sandy beaches on the Pacific Ocean. Bainbridge is a sweet, extremely safe community. Great farmer’s market, lots of farm stands throughout the island. A handful of amazing restaurants. Great coffee. Craft cocktails. Several wine bars and local wineries. If you get bored, you can venture off-island to Poulsbo, Port Gamble, Pt Townsend, and Chimacum for more options. And of course - downtown Seattle is just a 35 minute ferry away. But you’ll find once you’re here, you may start looking for excuses to stay on “this side” of the water.

other

Rarely, I may have to leave my Great Dane behind. She's easy and a local celebrity. But I would only do that if I don't have care for her and you want some big dog love and protection. The chickens are easy enough to care for - just fill up their food once a week and clean out their water bowl when you can (it fills automatically but the duck muddies it up, instantly). They like to hide their eggs so you may need to search a bit around the coop and run. It's like a grown-up easter egg hunt. Chickens naturally put themselves to bed at dusk and they have an automatic door, so no help needed there. Please note that I DO have a rooster. His job is to protect the hens from predators and he's literally a lifesaver (we have eagles, hawks, raccoons, coyotes, and owls). He crows at daybreak. So if you're super sensitive to noise you'll want earplugs. However, I only hear him if I sleep with the windows open - many others don't hear him at all. Otherwise, my property is very quiet. The veggie garden may need some water on the hottest days of summer. Otherwise, it's on a timer with sprinklers.

Home ID

#2048760 URL copiée !

Amenities

TV
WiFi
Dishwasher
Dryer
Washing machine
Microwave oven
Freezer
Oven
Fridge
Bathtub
Heating system
Wheelchair accessible
Baby gear
Computer
Internet
Private garden
Private pool
BBQ
A/C
Fireplace
Elevator
Private parking space
Car
Bicycle
Motorcycle
Doorman included
Cleaning person included
In-home movie theater
Satellite/cable
Balcony

House rules

Smokers welcome
Pets welcome
Children welcome
Dog to feed
Cat to feed
Plants to water

Map

Join the HomeExchange community!

Create an account to see the home's location and contact the member for an exchange!

Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Yes, this accommodation has a garden. You will find more details about the garden and other facilities on this page.
Yes, this accommodation has a wifi connection. We recommend that you discuss this with the host to ensure that the connection speed is sufficient for your needs.
Yes, this accommodation has one or more parking spaces.
This accommodation has 3 bedrooms.
The surface of this accommodation is 222m2.
Start exchanging your home!

Create a HomeExchange account to start contacting members.