Bodil's house at Singö (3 hrs north of Sthlm)

GP / nuit
1 single bed
2 double beds
1 baby extra bed

Become a member!

Join the community for $175 and organize as many exchanges as you want during 1 year.

Learn more


 home_description_languages fr, en, sv.


Here we go to get away from the hustle and bustle in the city (Stockholm). Here you can see the stars at night and sleep really tight. Go sit by the sea or take a walk in the woods. Or just relax by the fire with a good book, a boardgame or a glass of wine. We have an apartment in Stockholm as our primary home. This house is our secondary home. It is located on the island SINGÖ in the Roslagen archipelago north of Stocholm. This means that we can be fairly flexible with dates for this home.


The house is located on an island north of Stockholm, with road and bridges all the way. Countryside and closeness to the woods and the sea. The place is best in the very late spring, summer, early fall or snowy winters. Unfortunately the winters are getting more and more unpredictable, which is the reason I have reduced the green area in the calendar. A snowy winter day is beautiful! A rainy... not so.


Note that if you plan to do sightseeing in Stockholm City every day, this house is too far away! It takes approximately 3 hours door-to-door by local train+buses or 2 hours by car, from our apartment in Stockholm. The house is not correctly placed on the map, it's even placed on the wrong island (Fogdö)! Google Digrudan (the name of the bus stand) and you will be in the right place. Also, note that if you are looking for a fancy house, this is not the house for you. We feel at home and casual visitors find it to be comfortable and cozy. NO wifi or internet in this house. There are 2 bedrooms, with 1 double bed (width: 180 cm) + 1 single bed (width: 90 cm) in the master bedroom downstairs and 2 beds, that could be left together or separated, in the guest room upstairs. In the open room upstairs is a full long sofa, which could be used as a bed, if really needed. 2 bathrooms. Dishwasher and microwave oven. BBQ possibilities. Washing machine. Table tennis in the basement and a big trampoline in the garden during summer. Central heating and open fire place in the living room for colder periods (or chilly summer evenings, just for the cosiness) of the year. No AC, but portable fans for the warmer periods. We have an old (and home-built by the former owner) sauna in the backyard, but it isn't fancy or spa-like in any way, unfortunately, so we don't list the sauna here. We use it, though. We also have a small "office" upstairs, but there we store things during the exchange. 10 minutes walk to the local food store or 1 minute by car. The bus stop for buses to Grisslehamn, Norrtälje and Stockholm is on the road right by our place. This is the way we travel here during the winter period, when we just visit for the weekend. We are about the only ones getting on and off at this stop. If you plan to see more than Singö Island, I strongly recommend to rent a car - it will be all too inconvenient, otherwise. 15 minutes by car to Grisslehamn, where you can catch the boat for the Aland Islands (Åland). We have got both adult and junior bikes, of different sizes that you can borrow. We are non-smokers and don't allow smoking inside. Please follow the Scandinavian custom of taking your shoes off inside the house. It would be great if you could take the time to water some of the plants (roses, blackberry/ bramble/ dewberry etc) in the garden, if the weather would require it, but please, do not feel compelled. Pre-Covid we accepted both reciprocal exchanges and incoming GP guests for the house on Singö, but we have enough GPs right now, so we have decided to pause that for now, until further notice. The calendar openings in September are for non-simultaneous exchanges, when we can agree on a stay in your home maybe for Easter 2022 or next summer, but you prefer to stay here in September. Kayaks possible to rent from, or PS. The last pictures of the family are not from Sweden, they are captured during exchanges in the summer of 2019 on the Irish west coast and at Pulpit Rock in Stavanger, Norway.

ID de la maison

#1494322 URL copiée !


Washing machine
Microwave oven
Heating system
Wheelchair accessible
Baby gear
Private garden
Private pool
Private parking space
Doorman included
Cleaning person included
Ping-pong table

House rules

Smokers welcome
Pets welcome
Children welcome
Dog to feed
Cat to feed
Plants to water


Join the HomeExchange community!

Create an account to see the home's location and contact the member for an exchange!

Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Yes, this accommodation has a garden. You will find more details about the garden and other facilities on this page.
Yes, this accommodation has one or more parking spaces.
This accommodation has 2 bedrooms.
The surface of this accommodation is 131m2.
Start exchanging your home!

Create a HomeExchange account to start contacting members.