Wellcome to Barcelona, Spain!

Traveling Group
  • Jordi Meteorologist (48)
  • Adela Doctor (48)
  • Mireia (13)
  • Núria (11)
  • Ivet (7)


Preferred Exchanges

  • Inglaterra, Reino Unido

    June 24 — September 11, 2016

    Two or three weeks during the school holidays, preferentially London in July or August.

  • United States

    July 1 — January 31, 2017

    We'd like to do a long term exchange (up to 6 months, including the first term of school) in an USA city.


  • Cycling
  • Hiking
  • Mountain Biking
  • Antiquing
  • Historic Sites
  • Museums
  • Theater/Cinema
  • Shopping
Vacation Type

Exchange Reviews

July - July 2013

We had a fabulous time in Jordi and Adela's home. ...

Caroline from King's Park said

We had a fabulous time in Jordi and Adela's home. The apartment is beautiful, clean, comfortable and the patio area is a great addition to the home. Jordi and Adela made us very welcome and we have now become firm friends! We would thoroughly recommend an exchange with this lovely family.

What we said about Caroline's house:

We had a fabulous time in Caroline's home. The house is large, clean, comfortable and fully equiped, including a lot of toys for the kids. In addition, the patio/garden area is great. Caroline and Iain made us very welcome and we have now become firm friends! We would thoroughly recommend an exchange with this lovely family.

July - August 2014

We did an exchange with Jordi, Adela and family in ...

Niamh and Fred
Niamh and Fred from Dublin said

We did an exchange with Jordi, Adela and family in July 2014 for 3 weeks. We really enjoyed the holiday, and their home and surroundings have lots to offer. We travelled with our 4 and 5 year old boys, and it was ideal. The boys really enjoyed spending time by the pool and playing with the other Spanish children from the neighbouring apartments, and we spent some days by the beach too, including the beautiful beach of Sitges, and they were all within easy access by car. We also were made very welcome by their neighbours, even those who we could not communicate with. The apartment is a short walk from the train station so we could get to central Barcelona (Placa Catalunya) in 20 minutes, and we also did a few day trips to places such as Montserrat. There were many simple tapas bars within a 3 minute walk from the apartment and within a 10 minute walk, we had some of the best tapas ever (in a place called Tap). The apartment is spacious and was very clean and had everything we needed. We spent most of our time sitting on the outside deck, and ate all our meals out there, and in the evening we sat there reading and having a glass of wine. Having a small garden for the kids to play in, and having an outdoor dining area were for us, the nicest features of the house. Above all, we have developed a great friendship with Jordi and his family, and we always look forward to his emails and texts as he has a great sense of humour. In addition, if you like to be organised about your home exchange, I would definitely recommend Jordi and Adela, as from the moment we agreed on an exchange, everything was executed in a very organised manner, and queries were answered immediately. We were confident from the initial stages that we were doing an exchange with a family who were similar minded to us, and who we knew we would trust in our home. We look forward to many years of friendship with Adela and Jordi and we know that the next time we are in Barcelona, we will meet for a few drinks.

What we said about Niamh and Fred's house:

We did an exchange with Niamh, Fred and family in July 2014 for 3 weeks. We had a fabulous time in Dublin. We liked very much the city center and its parks, the coastal town of Howth, where we could buy excelent fresh fish and seefood, and the Wicklow County, just one hour by car from Dublin. The house is large, comfortable, fully equiped and high standard clean, so we easily felt as if we were been living there for a long time. In addition, the patio/garden area is great. Niamh and Fred made us very welcome, they helped us very much, before and during our stay. Before the trip they helped us finding summer camps for our 3 daughters, and during our stay in their house they gave us advice about restaurants, shops, and all the tourist attractions of Dublin and the surroundings. We chatted on whatsup very often and we have developed a great friendship. We would thoroughly recommend an exchange with this lovely family. En julio de 2014 pasamos casi tres semanas fabulosas en Dublín, incluida una “ola de calor” irlandesa (5 días consecutivos de sol con temperaturas máximas de 25 grados :-) y sólo tuvimos un día de mal tiempo. La casa de Niamh y Fred es ideal para familias con niños. Es amplia, limpia y tiene todo lo que necesitamos, incluyendo una cafetera Nespresso, muchos juguetes, bicicletas, y algo parecido a Canal Plus digital en el salón. Además, la cocina-salón es muy amplia y permite que los niños jueguen mientras nosotros cocinamos, o también puedes vigilar cómo los niños juegan en el patio mientras cocinas. Además, aunque viven en una urbanización, hay tiendas muy cerca, tanto en coche como paseando, y hay dos paradas de bus cercanas para “bajar” al centro de Dublín en alrededor de 20 minutos. Nosotros bajábamos en coche y aparcábamos en parkings del centro, con precios parecidos a los de Barcelona. Niamh y Fred nos ayudaron mucho, tanto antes como durante la estancia. Los meses previos nos ayudaron a conseguir “day syummer camps” para nuestras 3 hijas de 6, 9 y 11 años para que practicaran inglés. Les gustó especialmente el summer camp basado en el musical Aladdin en la Universidad de Niamh. Durante el viaje también nos ayudaron y aconsejaron con las visitas que hicimos, los lugares de compras o algunos restaurantes. La primera semana la dedicamos a hacer turismo cerca de Dublín: Wicklow, Howth, la playa y feria en Malahide, Belfast y el museo del Titanic… Las otras dos semanas, mientras las niñas asistían al summer camp, nosotros visitamos tranquilamente Dublín y algunos lugares cercanos. En definitiva, nos gustó mucho el intercambio en casa de Niamh y Fred, tanto por la casa y Dublín, como especialmente por Niamh y Fred. A pesar de que sólo pudimos hablar un par de minutos con ellos en el aeropuerto, a través de emails y whatsapps entablamos una buena amistad con ellos. Nos parece que son muy buena gente y que tienen un excelente sentido del humor.

July - July 2015

We did an exchange with Jordi, Adela and daughters in ...

Thorvardur said

We did an exchange with Jordi, Adela and daughters in July 2015 for two weeks. We had a fantastic time, enjoying both being at home and the wonders of Barcelona and Catalonia. We called their appartment ´home´ right away because that is how welcome we felt right from the beginning. Right from the moment we had made the agreement with our Catalan friends, we knew we were in good hands. They had prepared a really thorough and good guide for both the appartment and on what to do and see. They were always on top of things, replying to every single question right away, recommending things to do and see, wanting us to have as good time as possible. Which is what we did! Jordi and Adela’s home is really comfortable, extremely clean and neat, equipped with everything one needs, and has a very good atmosphere. We usually spent our morning in the lovely private garden area, often with a dip to the swimming pool before going about in Barcelona and surroundings in the afternoon, and then with another swim before either having dinner at home or tapas in one of the many local restaurants. We went to a local market for getting the best tomatoes we have ever had, wonderful chorizo, olives, fish and so on! Our children (3 and 5 years old) had a great time, the garden area and swimming pool were fantastic to have, and they also enjoyed the many playgrounds in the neighbourhood. Our last day, we were invited for a wonderful fideuá lunch with Jordi, Adela and family, so we got to know them even better. This summer we didn’t only get to know the wonders of Catalonia, relax at home, enjoy the swimming pool, good food and wine - but also were really lucky to get to know this wonderful family that we have developed a solid friendship with. You are truly lucky if you manage to do an exchange with them!