Hartelijke Groeten = Hello from us in Amsterdam,

Traveling Group
  • Jan Projectmanager (59)
  • Wilma Bookkeeper (55)

Listings

Preferred Exchanges

  • Open to Any Destination
  • Open to Any Dates
  • Brazil

    September 8 — October 20, 2016 These dates are flexible

    Estamos especialmente procurando hospitalidade (trocas/intercâmbio), mais particular a estadias curtas no Pantanal, Brasilia, Belém, Curitiba/Paraná + otras! Também Rio de Janeiro, incluindo intercâmbio (não-) simultânea. Para nós a partir de meados de setembro 2016: 2-5 dias, simultânea / não simultânea + hospitalidade => para você: muitas oportunidades e opções anteriores, mesmo ainda em 2015, por favor consulte o nosso calendário 'Availability/Disponibilidade'; mas mais tarde, p.e. em 2017 para nós é bom também!! We are especially looking for hospitality (exchanges), in particular short stays in the Pantanal-Belém-Curitaba/Paraná! Also Rio de Janeiro, including (non-) simultaneous exchange. For us from mid September 2016 onwards: 2-5 days, simultaneous or not + hospitality = > for you: a lot of earlier opportunities and options, even still in 2015 (but later on, f.e. in 2017 is fine with us as well). Please see our 'Availability' calendar!!

  • Cambridge, UK

    January 28 — July 4, 2016 These dates are flexible

    Wilma occasionally has work conferences in Cambridge. We look forward to extending one into a long weekend stay, whether simultaneous or non-simultaneous exchange or a mutual hospitality visit. Note: usually we can’t give more than one month-ahead notice about the specific needed dates. Non-simultaneous possibilities for you already in 2015, especially between 18-sep & 23-nov (during our Australia round trip)!

  • South Africa

    August 14 — January 31, 2020 These dates are flexible

    Our travels to South Africa won't be earlier than late 2016, more probable 2017 or 2018! => 4-10 days, non-simultaneous (see availability) or ± simultaneous = during our travels + always welcome for hospitality (exchange)!

Interests

  • Cycling
  • Hiking
  • Skiing
  • Culinary Travel
  • Historic Sites
  • Museums
Especially Passionate About

Bird watching

So far our knowledge of birds is basically limited to European birds. We hope to get the chance to change this in the years to come!

Vacation Type
1

Exchange Reviews

December 2013 - January 2014

We stayed in Jan and Wilma’s apartment for a ...

Charlotte
Charlotte from Greater London said

We stayed in Jan and Wilma’s apartment for a week or so for New year 2013. We had an absolutely brilliant time and - boy - the Dutch really know how to celebrate New Year! Great fun. Our kids are little, but the fireworks were so impressive we got them out of bed to see/hear the show! The house is clean, tidy and homely and is in a good location. It’s in a large modern block and is right on a wide canal, so the large terrace at the front looks out over the water. It’s located just on the edge of the Jordaan district, which is our favourite area of the city. It’s full of great shops, bars and cafes and has a very local feel as it’s a very residential area. From the house, It’s a five minute walk to the market on Wesserstracht and there’s some lovely streets off there too, so a great spot for a stroll. The Anne Frank huis and museum is a walkable distance also. Jan and Wilma kindly left their bikes for us, but we felt our kids weren’t quite ready for cycling in Amsterdam so we used the public transport… of which there is plenty. Transport links are good, with plenty of buses and trams to get you into the centre, and it’s easy to get around to the Rijksmuseum area with a tram taking you straight there. Communication with Jan and Wilma was excellent throughout. I think they’ve exchanged a few times so they understand the kind of things you’ll need to know. They kindly left us their museum/gallery passes and their instruction notes were very helpful too. We had a great time in Amsterdam and I’d recommend Jan and Wilma as great people to exchange with. Best, Paul and Charlotte

Jan & Wilma
What we said about Charlotte's house:

We visited as a couple with our 17 year old daughter around New Year’s Eve 2013 and have had a real lovely stay here. Upon arrival we did find the house in perfect order with a real welcoming Christmas atmosphere and with parking vouchers supplied for our car (real convenient). The house is beautiful and with plenty of space for each person to do his or her individual thing. We liked the neighborhood. It has an authentic feel with nice streets and houses. Nearby are plenty of restaurants and take-aways to choose from, plus supermarkets etc. Although perhaps not really in the very center of London it’s still in public transport zone 2, with different bus rides directly into the city. From the top of a double-decker this is another great way to explore different parts of London. Also within 15 minutes you can get to the Finsbury Park tube station which gives you access to the Piccadilly and Oxford lines. From the very beginning communication between Charlotte and us went very smooth and we were left with perfect, crystal clear instructions on everything when we were getting there. All three of us think back with pleasure to this trip and we can really recommend this place as a perfect place to experience London. Cheers, Jan, Wilma & Tessa